Understanding the Various Phases of Alzheimer’s

If you are caring for a person who is suffering from Alzheimer’s disease, it is important for you to know as much about this disorder as possible, so that you will be able to care for the patient in a better way. Usually, the patient will be able to lead a normal and productive life when this disease is still in the early phases. Of course, there will be some symptoms of this disorder and you will identify these symptoms because the patient will start to act differently. However, the symptoms will not be very evident when the disease is still in the early stages.
Stage 1

It is not possible for many of us to recognize the signs of Alzheimer’s disease in the first stage because there are not many mental changes in the patient. Even the patient will not realize that he is suffering from this deteriorating brain disease.

Stage 2

In this stage, the patient starts to become forgetful, but not very forgetful. He or she simply tends to forget things sometimes. It is also during this stage that the patient will have problems coming up with the right words that he or she wants to say. While the family and friends of the patient will start to notice these symptoms, they will usually not associate these symptoms with Alzheimer’s.

Stage 3

During this stage, you will start to realize the patient has started to become more forgetful than before. He or she will also have a difficult time focusing on his or her work. You will notice that his or her performance at work will decline significantly and the patient will often fail to remember the names of the people that they have met recently. It will be difficult for them to retain the information that they have read. Most of the time, the patient will begin to lose his or her personal possessions during this stage. Usually, the doctors can actually diagnose a person with Alzheimer’s during the third stage.

Stage 4

The ability of the patient to reason and think will start to become inconsistent during this stage. He or she will not be able to recall certain incidents that have taken place in his or her daily life. The patient will start to realize that something is not going right in his or her life.

Stage 5

During this stage, the patient will not be able to remember a lot of things that has happened in his or her life. In fact, it can be so severe that the patient can forget his or her own name and address.

Stage 6

Perhaps this is one of the worse stages because during this stage the patient will not remember anything that has happened to him or her. The patient will start to forget the names of his or her loved ones. In fact, the patient may even forget his or her loved ones.

Stage 7

This is the last stage of Alzheimer’s where he patient will not be able to function properly without the help of the caregiver.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.